<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<itemContainer xmlns="http://omeka.org/schemas/omeka-xml/v5" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://omeka.org/schemas/omeka-xml/v5 http://omeka.org/schemas/omeka-xml/v5/omeka-xml-5-0.xsd" uri="https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/items/browse?tags=Railroad+Executives&amp;sort_field=Dublin+Core%2CTitle&amp;sort_dir=a&amp;output=omeka-xml" accessDate="2026-08-14T14:27:44-04:00">
  <miscellaneousContainer>
    <pagination>
      <pageNumber>1</pageNumber>
      <perPage>10</perPage>
      <totalResults>2</totalResults>
    </pagination>
  </miscellaneousContainer>
  <item itemId="82" public="1" featured="0">
    <fileContainer>
      <file fileId="101">
        <src>https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/files/original/b371944a6a69dc0e6345a7e81c94c62e.jpg</src>
        <authentication>9ca6b9724bb3a108ca1e7b5c6f1db82c</authentication>
      </file>
    </fileContainer>
    <collection collectionId="4">
      <elementSetContainer>
        <elementSet elementSetId="1">
          <name>Dublin Core</name>
          <description>The Dublin Core metadata element set is common to all Omeka records, including items, files, and collections. For more information see, http://dublincore.org/documents/dces/.</description>
          <elementContainer>
            <element elementId="50">
              <name>Title</name>
              <description>A name given to the resource</description>
              <elementTextContainer>
                <elementText elementTextId="138">
                  <text>Buildings</text>
                </elementText>
              </elementTextContainer>
            </element>
            <element elementId="41">
              <name>Description</name>
              <description>An account of the resource</description>
              <elementTextContainer>
                <elementText elementTextId="139">
                  <text>Houses and other structures on Cooper Street in Camden, N.J.</text>
                </elementText>
              </elementTextContainer>
            </element>
          </elementContainer>
        </elementSet>
      </elementSetContainer>
    </collection>
    <itemType itemTypeId="18">
      <name>Place</name>
      <description>Residence, business, or other entity.</description>
      <elementContainer>
        <element elementId="68">
          <name>Illustrations</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="894">
              <text>Photograph by Jacob Lechner</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="64">
          <name>Significance</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="895">
              <text>325 Cooper Street is a contributing structure of the Cooper Street Historic District, which is listed on the New Jersey and National Register of Historic Places. The west end of a row of three houses built in the early 1850s, it supports the district’s significance as a collection of residences representing the nineteenth-century history of Camden. Its past residents include Camden’s second female physician, Lettie Ward. Since 2016, offices in this building have included the &lt;a href="https://march.rutgers.edu/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Mid-Atlantic Regional Center for the Humanities&lt;/a&gt; (MARCH) at Rutgers-Camden.</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="58">
          <name>Architectural style</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="896">
              <text>Greek Revival</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="56">
          <name>Date of construction</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="897">
              <text>c. 1852-1854</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="65">
          <name>History</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="898">
              <text>&lt;p&gt;As Cooper family heirs sold their land for development in the 1850s, they used two adjoining lots at 325 and &lt;a href="https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/items/show/81" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;327&lt;/a&gt; Cooper Street to set an aesthetic for the future. The deeds for both properties, executed in 1852, specified that “three story brick buildings only shall be erected upon Cooper Street.” This ruled out wood-frame structures and assured houses of a size and scale that would only be affordable to similarly substantial owners. The lot later numbered 325 became the west end of a row of three similar residences at the northwest corner of Fourth and Cooper Streets. The house, built between 1852 and 1854, was rented out by its first owners, who lived in Burlington County.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;From Countryside to City&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The first known tenants of 325 Cooper Street were members of the large and prominent Browning family, whose ancestors immigrated to the region from Holland in the early eighteenth century. Maurice Browning, who rented 325 Cooper Street beginning in 1854, grew up among a dozen siblings on his father Abraham’s farm in Stockton Township, about three and a half miles from Camden. The elder Browning, in addition to farming, also played a role in the city’s growth by establishing the Market Street Ferry, which passed to his heirs (including his son Maurice) when he died in 1836.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Maurice Browning, born in 1811, left the farm and pursued a career in pharmacy, working first in a drug store in Mount Holly, then studying pharmacy in Philadelphia, and then opening a drug store on Market Street in Camden. By the time he rented the house on Cooper Street, he had expanded his business activities to manufacturing and banking. With other family members, in 1840 he established the Aroma Mills, which extracted and sold dyes from woods. In 1855, around the time he moved to Cooper Street, Browning became a director of the newly formed Farmers’ and Mechanics Bank (later the First National Bank of Camden).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The Browning family at 325 Cooper Street in 1860 was headed by Maurice, then in his 40s, and his wife Anna, in her 30s, the daughter of a Philadelphia merchant who also owned a farm near Haddonfield. Married since 1840, their years on Cooper Street began in sadness in 1854 with the death of their oldest daughter, Ellen, who was 14 years old. The cause of her death was not publicly reported, but in the custom of the time her funeral was held at home prior to burial in Colestown Cemetery. The Brownings had earlier lost another child, a son named Maurice after his father, who died in 1850 when less than 2 years of age. These losses left the Brownings a family of five. When documented by the 1860 Census, the children were a son, Abraham, 15 years old, and two daughters, Josephine, 6, and Alice, 3. Another son, Lehman, was born the next year, in 1861. The Brownings employed two domestic servants, both Irish immigrants: Rebecca Caffrey, 36 years old, and Catherine McMullen, 17.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;During the family’s years on Cooper Street, Maurice Browning joined in the enthusiasm for the new Republican Party, founded in 1854. At a mass meeting in Camden in 1856, Browning was among the local party supporters who turned out to voice support for the Republican platform and its national candidates, John C. Fremont for president and William L. Dayton for vice president. In 1862, Browning was among the original members of the Union League of Philadelphia, founded to support the Union cause during the Civil War.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Camden, Philadelphia, and the World&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The Browning family left 325 Cooper Street by 1863, the year before the property’s original owners sold the home to Charles A. Sparks, a partner in a Philadelphia wholesale grocery and imports business. With his wife, Amelia, and their four children, Sparks lived at 325 Cooper Street during a decade, from 1864 to 1874, that proved pivotal in his career. Like other merchants with Camden and Philadelphia ties, his interests widened to investments that aided  Camden’s growth and the region’s reach outward in the nation and the world.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Charles Sparks had family roots in &lt;a href="https://philadelphiaencyclopedia.org/locations/salem-county-new-jersey/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Salem County&lt;/a&gt;, New Jersey, but his father (a mariner), mother, and a brother had moved to Camden by 1850. Sparks began his adult working life across the river in Philadelphia as a clerk in the wholesale grocery, importing, and exporting business of Edward C. Knight, a Camden County native, and soon became a partner in the E.C. Knight Co. While remaining with the firm, Sparks chose to live in Camden after his 1852 marriage to Amelia Ross, who was born in England, the daughter of a merchant who became an extensive landholder in Stockton and Pennsauken Townships. They moved to Cooper Street from their earlier home near Third and Market Streets. By the time of the 1870 Census their household at 325 Cooper Street included four children, a son and three daughters ranging in age from 5 to 13; Charles by this time was 43 years old, and Amelia was 40. They employed at least one domestic servant, Sarah McHale, likely an Irish immigrant.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Charles Sparks' association with the E.C. Knight Co. placed him in an extensive network of trade between Philadelphia, the Pacific, and the Caribbean. Around the time that Sparks went to work for Knight, the firm expanded its trade from importing coffee from the West Indies to seagoing trade with California. As he became a partner in the company, Knight initiated imports of molasses and sugar from Cuba. At first acting as an agent for other refineries in Philadelphia, by 1870 the E.C. Knight Co. established its own refinery complex in the Southwark section of the city, with Charles Sparks in charge. Edward Knight also invested in railroads and steamship lines; in 1874, Sparks joined him as an incorporator of the &lt;a href="http://cnhillsborough.blogspot.com/2021/03/delaware-and-bound-brook-railroad.html" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Delaware River &amp;amp; Bound Brook Railroad Company&lt;/a&gt;, a 27-mile line reaching northward from Trenton that posed a challenge to the Camden &amp;amp; Amboy Railroad’s dominance of rail connections with New York.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sparks' success in business returned benefits in Camden. At home at 325 Cooper Street, he initiated interior and exterior renovations. The &lt;em&gt;West Jersey Press &lt;/em&gt;observed in 1869 that Sparks “has made a decided and tasteful alteration, both internally and externally, in his dwelling. He has replaced the ordinary window glass with French plate, in walnut sash, giving the front a pleasing effect.” The house in 2022 retains an impressive nineteenth-century hallstand, marble fireplace, and ornately framed parlor mirror that may attest to these improvements. Sparks also invested time and funds in Camden institutions, for example serving on the board of the Farmers’ and Mechanics’ Bank (later the First National Bank of Camden) with the previous occupant of 325 Cooper Street, Maurice Browning. He served on the building committee for the First Presbyterian Church, supported the Republican Party, and became known for a fine pair of horses that he drove in Philadelphia’s Fairmount Park and while on vacation in Atlantic City.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The role of Amelia Sparks in these activities, or others independent of her husband, did not leave traces in the public record. She did, however, nurture a lasting connection with Camden. The Sparks family moved to Philadelphia in 1874 but kept 325 Cooper Street as a rental property. Many years later, after the death of Charles Sparks in 1904, Amelia Sparks returned to the house on Cooper Street. Then in her 70s, she spent another decade in her earlier home with one of her daughters, a niece, and servants to take care of the housework.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Rental Property&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The Sparks family’s removal to Philadelphia in 1874 opened a period of three decades of varied tenancy at 325 Cooper Street. For most of the 1880s, the tenants were members of the Browning family who had lived at the same address two decades before—in this later era, George G. Browning, the brother of Maurice Browning and his partner in the dye industry. His household included Mary White, his mother-in-law but also mother of Dr. J. Orlando White, who lived two doors away at &lt;a href="https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/items/show/80" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;329 Cooper Street&lt;/a&gt;.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;After this return of the Brownings, the house was offered for rent or sale periodically through the economic downturn of the 1890s until it became a boarding house in 1897. For a short period until 1901, the boarding house was run by Catherine Fisler, who lived in the home with her husband, Leonard, a Philadelphia produce dealer and Civil War veteran who fought for the Union with the Pennsylvania Third Cavalry. Their household included a grown son, his wife, and a grandchild, in addition to as many as eight boarders. When recorded in the Census of 1900, the boarders reflected the coalescing population of the growing industrial city—all were born in New Jersey or Pennsylvania, but their parents had birthplaces that included Delaware, Virginia, England, and Germany. The boarders held jobs ranging from unskilled laborer to railroad conductor to white-collar professions.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The last renter before Amelia Sparks returned to Cooper Street was Alfred G. McCausland, a railroad superintendent who rented the house for two years before purchasing another at 521 Cooper Street. Formerly a longtime resident of Wilmington, Delaware, McCausland and his family arrived in Camden by 1903 when the Reading Railroad transferred him from the Wilmington and Northern Railroad to the Atlantic City line. In his late 40s at the time of the move, McCausland’s household on Cooper Street included his second wife, Elizabeth (Lizzie), and two grown children from his first marriage. His son Frank also worked in railroading as a brakeman.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Business and Professional Women&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The house at 325 Cooper Street remained in the ownership of the Sparks family until 1924, passing from Amelia Sparks to her daughter Emma and then to a niece, also named in Amelia Sparks. They remained in the home after the death of the elder Amelia in 1915 but also rented to other tenants—in 1920, a widowed designer of ladies’ gowns, Blanche Morse, and her family of four children, three of whom were adults working and adding to the household income. A daughter worked as a clerk in a department store, a son was a bank clerk, and another son a secretary for a leather company.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;By the 1920s, Cooper Street was experiencing a transition to commercial uses caused indirectly by the construction of the Delaware River Bridge (later renamed the Benjamin Franklin Bridge), which opened in 1926. Expecting an economic boom in Camden, boosters and real estate interests sought to remake Cooper Street into a commercial corridor. With many former residences converting into apartments and offices, it was therefore newsworthy when 325 Cooper Street sold in 1924 to an undisclosed buyer, “to remain as a residence,” the Camden &lt;em&gt;Morning Post&lt;/em&gt; reported.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In fact, the residence became both a home and an office for its notable new owner, Dr. Lettie Ward. She was a longtime physician by the time she purchased 325 Cooper Street, but when she became a doctor in the 1890s she was only the second woman to practice medicine in the city. A Camden native, born in 1859, Ward initially followed a more common career path for unmarried, college-educated women and became a schoolteacher and principal. She was inspired, though, by Camden’s first female physician, &lt;a href="https://njwomenshistory.org/discover/biographies/sophia-presley/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Sophia Presley&lt;/a&gt;, who also had begun her career in teaching. In 1894, Ward resigned her position as principal of the Jesse Starr School and enrolled in the &lt;a href="https://philadelphiaencyclopedia.org/essays/womans-medical-college-of-pennsylvania/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Woman’s Medical College of Pennsylvania&lt;/a&gt;. Graduating in 1898, she returned to Camden to practice.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ward purchased 325 Cooper Street in 1924 after being displaced from her previous longtime home and office three blocks away, on Cooper Street near Sixth, because it stood in the path for extending a street to connect with the new Delaware River Bridge. In her new home, she had her office on the first floor, and in addition to providing health care she hosted executive board meetings of the Camden County Business and Professional Woman’s Club. For her fourteen years at this address, Ward lived upstairs from her office in a household with other unmarried women of her generation. When recorded by the 1930 Census, Ward was 70 years old and shared the living quarters with three other women, one of them her cousin Alice Hibbs, 60 years old. The other two, described in the Census as lodgers, were lifelong companions and recently retired principals of Camden schools: Laura J. Harrop, 64, and Lillie T. Osler, 63. After Ward retired and moved in 1938, Harrop and Osler also left to live with other family members and remained together for the rest of their long lives, each of them reaching 101 years of age. They were buried side-by-side in the Haddonfield Baptist Cemetery.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Rooms and Apartments&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;After Lettie Ward’s period of ownership, 325 Cooper Street followed a trajectory more typical of older rowhouses in North Camden, increasingly deteriorating yet becoming more densely populated with roomers and apartment dwellers. By 1940, a family of six rented the house and in turn let rooms to six additional lodgers. An ad offering an apartment in 1943 promised “refined surroundings,” but by 1949 a landlord was ordered by the city to install a shower and a toilet to bring the building up to code. In the 1950s, the house was marketed as a potential office location at a “reduced price” and later marketed for sale as a rooming and apartment house.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tenants at 325 Cooper Street beginning in the 1940s reflected the changing demographics of Camden, especially the growing presence of &lt;a href="https://philadelphiaencyclopedia.org/essays/puerto-rican-migration/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Puerto Rican residents&lt;/a&gt;. The Campbell Soup Company had recruited Puerto Rican workers to Camden during the Second World War, at first housing them near the soup factory on the waterfront. As workers stayed, created lives and families, and started businesses and institutions, they became increasingly dominant in the population of North Camden. Tenants with Spanish surnames were common at 325 Cooper Street; three born in Puerto Rico were documented in the 1950 Census: Vincent Porrata, 37, a kitchen helper in a hotel; and Arthur Cruz, 29, and Ralph Maldonado, 24, both laborers for a metal specialty company.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometime prior to 1980, 325 Cooper Street became the property of Edward Teitelman, a psychiatrist by profession but also a historic preservation activist. Teitelman purchased and maintained several of Cooper Street’s most notable houses remaining from the nineteenth century, including two others in the same block, &lt;a href="https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/items/show/78" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;303&lt;/a&gt; and &lt;a href="https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/items/show/79" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;305&lt;/a&gt;. He lived in 305 Cooper Street, the distinctive Queen Anne Revival residence designed by Philadelphia architect Wilson Eyre. By the late 1980s, however, 325 Cooper Street was appearing in legal notices for overdue back taxes.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Rutgers University acquired 325 Cooper Street from trustees for Edward and Mildred Teitelman in 2001, and renovations created offices for the New Jersey Small Business Development Center of Rutgers-Camden. The building later served as home to the Rutgers-Camden Institute for Effective Education, offices for civic engagement activities, and beginning in 2016 as co-working space for the &lt;a href="https://march.rutgers.edu/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Mid-Atlantic Regional Center for the Humanities&lt;/a&gt; (MARCH). Among other activities, MARCH initiated the “Learning from Cooper Street” project to recover and raise awareness of the Cooper Street Historic District and adjoining blocks occupied by Rutgers-Camden.&lt;/p&gt;</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="61">
          <name>Associated Individuals</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="899">
              <text>&lt;p&gt;For a list of all known occupants of 325 Cooper Street, link to the &lt;a href="https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15gz3_mGk3FcNl0TPaOZAq6B1CHvOpqRcY7a99xkp_l4/edit?usp=sharing" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Cooper Street Residents Database&lt;/a&gt; and scroll down to 325.&lt;/p&gt;</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="62">
          <name>Sources</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="900">
              <text>Camden and Philadelphia Newspapers (Newspapers.com and Genealogy Bank).&lt;br /&gt; Camden City Directories (Camden County Historical Society and Ancestry.com).&lt;br /&gt; Camden County Property Records.&lt;br /&gt; New Jersey State Census, 1885-1915, and U.S. Census, 1850-1950 (Ancestry.com).&lt;br /&gt; Prowell, George R. &lt;em&gt;The History of Camden County, New Jersey.&lt;/em&gt; Philadelphia: L.J. Richards &amp;amp; Co., 1886.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Note on sources:&lt;/strong&gt; A structure survey prepared by the Camden Division of Planning in 1980 identified 325 Cooper Street as the "George Bockius House." Further research in property deeds has established that George Bockius lived instead in the similar house at 329 Cooper Street.</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="60">
          <name>Research by</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="901">
              <text>Charlene Mires and Lucy Davis</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="63">
          <name>Posted by</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="902">
              <text>Charlene Mires&#13;
Send corrections to cmires@camden.rutgers.edu</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
      </elementContainer>
    </itemType>
    <elementSetContainer>
      <elementSet elementSetId="1">
        <name>Dublin Core</name>
        <description>The Dublin Core metadata element set is common to all Omeka records, including items, files, and collections. For more information see, http://dublincore.org/documents/dces/.</description>
        <elementContainer>
          <element elementId="50">
            <name>Title</name>
            <description>A name given to the resource</description>
            <elementTextContainer>
              <elementText elementTextId="892">
                <text>325 Cooper Street</text>
              </elementText>
            </elementTextContainer>
          </element>
          <element elementId="41">
            <name>Description</name>
            <description>An account of the resource</description>
            <elementTextContainer>
              <elementText elementTextId="893">
                <text>Contributing structure, Cooper Street Historic District.</text>
              </elementText>
            </elementTextContainer>
          </element>
        </elementContainer>
      </elementSet>
    </elementSetContainer>
    <tagContainer>
      <tag tagId="88">
        <name>1850s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="89">
        <name>1860s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="90">
        <name>1870s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="47">
        <name>1880s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="48">
        <name>1890s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="49">
        <name>1900s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="74">
        <name>1910s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="91">
        <name>1920s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="92">
        <name>1930s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="93">
        <name>1940s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="94">
        <name>1950s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="95">
        <name>1960s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="96">
        <name>1970s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="97">
        <name>1980s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="98">
        <name>1990s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="123">
        <name>2000s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="124">
        <name>2010s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="3">
        <name>300 Block</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="317">
        <name>325 Cooper Street</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="182">
        <name>Apartments</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="39">
        <name>Boarding House</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="141">
        <name>Burlington County</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="33">
        <name>Civil War</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="29">
        <name>Doctors</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="315">
        <name>Dyes</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="85">
        <name>Greek Revival</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="113">
        <name>Grocers</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="171">
        <name>Merchants</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="11">
        <name>Philadelphia</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="263">
        <name>Puerto Ricans</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="236">
        <name>Railroad Executives</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="311">
        <name>Republican Party</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="312">
        <name>Rooming House</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="27">
        <name>Rutgers-Camden</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="314">
        <name>Salem County</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="316">
        <name>Sugar</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="121">
        <name>Teachers</name>
      </tag>
    </tagContainer>
  </item>
  <item itemId="61" public="1" featured="0">
    <fileContainer>
      <file fileId="74">
        <src>https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/files/original/a3a3b6f3194ecfe7f7262f659caaaf9b.jpg</src>
        <authentication>1efe517cfc1070d84e1202f600d99678</authentication>
      </file>
      <file fileId="75">
        <src>https://omeka.camden.rutgers.edu/files/original/6c2ee2ef0a428df7624427f289f6129e.jpg</src>
        <authentication>86f7e131e28d58792ad78e403829f44f</authentication>
      </file>
    </fileContainer>
    <collection collectionId="4">
      <elementSetContainer>
        <elementSet elementSetId="1">
          <name>Dublin Core</name>
          <description>The Dublin Core metadata element set is common to all Omeka records, including items, files, and collections. For more information see, http://dublincore.org/documents/dces/.</description>
          <elementContainer>
            <element elementId="50">
              <name>Title</name>
              <description>A name given to the resource</description>
              <elementTextContainer>
                <elementText elementTextId="138">
                  <text>Buildings</text>
                </elementText>
              </elementTextContainer>
            </element>
            <element elementId="41">
              <name>Description</name>
              <description>An account of the resource</description>
              <elementTextContainer>
                <elementText elementTextId="139">
                  <text>Houses and other structures on Cooper Street in Camden, N.J.</text>
                </elementText>
              </elementTextContainer>
            </element>
          </elementContainer>
        </elementSet>
      </elementSetContainer>
    </collection>
    <itemType itemTypeId="18">
      <name>Place</name>
      <description>Residence, business, or other entity.</description>
      <elementContainer>
        <element elementId="68">
          <name>Illustrations</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="680">
              <text>527 Cooper Street in 1890, The Inland Architect and News Record. (Courtesy, Ryerson and Burnham Libraries, the Art Institute of Chicago)&#13;
527 Cooper Street in 2019. (Photograph by Jacob Lechner)</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="64">
          <name>Significance</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="681">
              <text>527 Cooper Street is a contributing structure of the Cooper Street Historic District, which is listed on the New Jersey and National Registers of Historic Places. Its designers, &lt;a href="https://www.philadelphiabuildings.org/pab/app/ar_display.cfm/22158" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Hazlehurst &amp;amp; Huckel&lt;/a&gt; of Philadelphia, are named in National Register documentation as among the architects whose work warranted designating the district based on its distinctive architecture. The building also illustrates the district’s significance in representing broad patterns of American history. As stated in the National Register nomination: “The buildings within the district include Camden’s best remaining examples of Federal houses and its most intact examples of nineteenth-century houses as well as important office and bank buildings of more recent vintage. These buildings demonstrate the street’s change from residential and professional to commercial.” During the 1920s, the building housed offices of real estate agents and a builder who played important roles in that transition. The building also has a notable history associated with individuals prominent in industry and government, their families, and domestic workers whose histories reflect patterns of immigration and African American migration.</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="58">
          <name>Architectural style</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="682">
              <text>Queen Anne. Documentation prepared in 1980 by J.P. Graham of the Division of Planning, City of Camden, stated: “Although altered the house preserves an element characteristic to residential construction on Cooper St. in the last decade of the Nineteenth Century. It is also one of the few Queen Anne buildings remaining in the Central Business District of Camden.”</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="56">
          <name>Date of construction</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="683">
              <text>1889</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="65">
          <name>History</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="684">
              <text>In 1889, an officer of the Anderson Preserving Company in Camden commissioned the Queen Anne-style home at 527 Cooper Street. Like other new homes on Cooper Street during the 1880s and 1890s, it likely replaced an earlier, less elaborate brick row house. The construction of the new home occurred as Camden grew in size and stature, and as Cooper Street became an increasingly fashionable address. The character of the street changed in the early 1880s when curbs were moved toward the center of the street by twelve feet on each side, which gave homeowners space to create a boulevard of homes fronted by porches, front yards, and gardens.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Industry and Architects&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; Abraham Anderson, a partner with the founder of Campbell’s Soup before forming his own firm, lived at 232 Cooper when he bought the 527 Cooper Street property up the street in 1885. Four years later, he sold 527 to his daughter, Ella A. Cox, who with her husband, John, newborn daughter Martha, and domestic servants became the first residents of a new house built on the lot in 1889.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; To design the new home, John T. Cox (secretary-treasurer of his father-in-law’s company) commissioned &lt;a href="In%201889,%20an%20officer%20of%20the%20Anderson%20Preserving%20Company%20in%20Camden%20commissioned%20the%20Queen%20Anne-style%20home%20at%20527%20Cooper%20Street.%20Like%20other%20new%20homes%20on%20Cooper%20Street%20during%20the%201880s%20and%201890s,%20it%20likely%20replaced%20an%20earlier,%20less%20elaborate%20brick%20row%20house.%20As%20Camden%20grew%20in%20size%20and%20stature,%20Cooper%20Street%20became%20an%20increasingly%20fashionable%20address.%20Its%20character%20changed%20in%20the%20early%201880s%20when%20curbs%20were%20moved%20toward%20the%20center%20of%20the%20street%20by%20twelve%20feet%20on%20each%20side,%20which%20gave%20homeowners%20space%20to%20create%20a%20boulevard%20of%20homes%20fronted%20by%20porches,%20front%20%20yards,%20and%20gardens.%20Industry%20and%20Architects%20Abraham%20Anderson,%20a%20partner%20with%20the%20founder%20of%20Campbell%E2%80%99s%20Soup%20before%20forming%20his%20own%20firm,%20lived%20at%20232%20Cooper%20when%20he%20bought%20the%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20property%20up%20the%20street%20in%201885.%20Four%20years%20later,%20he%20sold%20527%20to%20his%20daughter,%20Ella%20A.%20Cox,%20who%20with%20her%20husband,%20John,%20newborn%20daughter%20Martha,%20and%20domestic%20servants%20became%20the%20first%20residents%20of%20a%20new%20house%20built%20on%20the%20lot%20in%201889.%20To%20design%20the%20new%20home,%20John%20T.%20Cox%20(secretary-treasurer%20of%20his%20father-in-law%E2%80%99s%20company)%20commissioned%20Hazlehurst%20&amp;amp;%20Huckel,%20a%20Philadelphia%20firm%20known%20for%20residential,%20church,%20and%20commercial%20architecture.%20The%20firm%20had%20recently%20completed%20another%20Queen%20Anne-style%20home%20at%20323%20Cooper%20Street,%20within%20view%20of%20the%20Anderson%20residence%20at%20Second%20and%20Cooper.%20One%20of%20the%20partners,%20Edward%20P.%20Hazlehurst,%20had%20worked%20with%20one%20of%20Philadelphia%E2%80%99s%20best-known%20architects,%20Frank%20Furness,%20before%20starting%20his%20own%20firm%20with%20Samuel%20Huckel%20Jr.%20in%201881.%20The%20stature%20of%20the%20partners%20had%20grown%20in%201887,%20when%20they%20won%20a%20competition%20to%20design%20the%20Manufacturer%E2%80%99s%20Club%20prominently%20located%20at%20Broad%20and%20Walnut%20Streets%20in%20Philadelphia;%20later%20Huckel,%20individually%20won%20the%20commission%20to%20remodel%20Grand%20Central%20Station%20in%20New%20York.%20In%20the%20300%20and%20500%20blocks%20of%20Cooper%20Street,%20the%20two%20Hazlehurst%20&amp;amp;%20Huckel%20houses%20stood%20distinctively%20among%20the%20earlier%20generation%20of%20red-brick%20rowhouses%20built%20in%20the%201850s.%20They%20celebrated%20individuality%20in%20their%20varieties%20of%20materials%20and%20departures%20from%20symmetry,%20and%20they%20punctured%20the%20typical%20flat%20fa%C3%A7ade%20of%20earlier%20rowhouses%20by%20featuring%20bay%20windows%20and%20dormers.%20The%20house%20at%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20earned%20a%20full-page%20photograph%20in%20The%20Inland%20Architect%20and%20News%20Record,%20a%20monthly%20trade%20journal%20published%20in%20Chicago.%20The%20Cox%20family%20lived%20at%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20until%201897,%20when%20they%20followed%20the%20trend%20of%20other%20Camden%20elites%20by%20moving%20to%20more%20pastoral%20suburbs%20(Moorestown).%20While%20on%20Cooper%20Street,%20their%20household%20included%20at%20least%20two%20domestic%20servants,%20at%20least%20one%20of%20them%20an%20Irish%20immigrant.%20Prestige%20Rental%20The%20Cox%20family%20sold%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20to%20a%20real%20estate%20firm,%20opening%20a%20period%20of%20more%20than%20two%20decades%20when%20the%20home%20was%20leased%20to%20a%20series%20of%20high-profile%20tenants.%20These%20included%20four%20division%20managers%20for%20the%20Pennsylvania%20Railroad%E2%80%99s%20Amboy%20Division%20(formerly%20the%20Camden%20and%20Amboy%20Railroad).%20Among%20the%20most%20notable%20residents%20of%20527%20Cooper%20during%20these%20early%20years%20of%20the%20twentieth%20century,%20future%20New%20Jersey%20Supreme%20Court%20Justice%20Frank%20T.%20Lloyd%20Sr.%20lived%20at%20this%20address%20between%201908%20and%201918.%20Lloyd%20had%20lived%20in%20Camden%20since%201875,%20when%20he%20arrived%20from%20Delaware%20to%20work%20as%20a%20compositor%20for%20the%20West%20Jersey%20Press%20newspaper.%20He%20became%20a%20lawyer%20by%20studying%20with%20Philadelphia%20attorneys%20and%20maintained%20a%20Philadelphia%20law%20office.%20Elected%20to%20the%20New%20Jersey%20Assembly%20for%20the%20term%201896-97,%20Lloyd%20began%20a%20career%20of%20public%20service%20marked%20by%20combatting%20vice%20and%20upholding%20morality%20in%20his%20posts%20as%20legislator,%20Camden%20County%20Prosecutor,%20and%20Circuit%20Court%20Judge.%20In%20the%20Assembly,%20he%20wrote%20a%20new%20marriage%20law%20that%20ended%20Camden%E2%80%99s%20reputation%20as%20a%20place%20for%20quick%20get-away%20marriages%20by%20requiring%20a%20three-day%20wait%20after%20obtaining%20a%20marriage%20license.%20As%20a%20prosecutor,%20he%20took%20aim%20at%20illegal%20gambling,%20particularly%20at%20racetracks.%20The%20extended%20Lloyd%20family%20at%20527%20Cooper%20is%20glimpsed%20in%20the%20U.S.%20Census%20in%201910,%20during%20Frank%20Sr.%E2%80%99s%20service%20as%20Circuit%20Court%20Judge.%20Lloyd,%20then%2050%20years%20old,%20headed%20the%20family%20with%20his%20wife,%20Mary,%20age%2043;%20Mary%E2%80%99s%20older%20sister%20Sophia%20Pelouze,%2050%20years%20old%20and%20single,%20identified%20herself%20to%20the%20Census-taker%20as%20a%20%E2%80%9Ccompanion.%E2%80%9D%20The%20Lloyds,%20who%20had%20been%20married%2023%20years,%20had%20three%20children%20ranging%20in%20age%20from%2010%20to%2022.%20The%20domestic%20workers%20in%20the%20Lloyd%20household%20added%20not%20only%20their%20labor%20but%20also%20ethnic%20and%20racial%20diversity,%20as%20in%20many%20other%20Cooper%20Street%20households.%20Katie%20Tellus,%2031%20years%20old,%20immigrated%20to%20the%20United%20States%20from%20Bavaria%20(Austria)%20%E2%80%93%20a%20rarity%20among%20Cooper%20Street%20servants,%20who%20typically%20came%20from%20Ireland.%20A%20widow,%20she%20could%20not%20read%20or%20write.%20The%20Lloyds%20also%20employed%20James%20R.%20Taylor,%20a%2035-year-old%20Black%20man%20described%20in%20the%20Census%20as%20a%20butler%20but%20listed%20in%20later%20city%20directories%20as%20a%20cook.%20Taylor,%20born%20in%20either%20Maryland%20or%20Virginia%20(sources%20vary),%20was%20among%20southern%20African%20Americans%20who%20migrated%20to%20Camden%20and%20other%20northern%20cities%20in%20search%20of%20opportunity%20and%20an%20escape%20from%20repression%20and%20violence.%20Taylor%20displayed%20his%20aspirations,%20and%20perhaps%20his%20dissatisfaction%20with%20housework,%20in%20a%20series%20of%20classified%20ads%20in%201912.%20In%20the%20Situations%20Wanted%20column%20of%20the%20Courier-Post%20he%20advertised,%20%E2%80%9CYoung%20colored%20boy%20from%20South%20wishes%20position%20of%20any%20kind%E2%80%9D%20and%20%E2%80%9CSouthern%20colored%20boy%20wants%20position%20driving%20for%20doctor.%E2%80%9D%20His%20self-description%20as%20a%20%E2%80%9Cyoung%20colored%20boy,%E2%80%9D%20despite%20being%20a%20man%20in%20his%2030s,%20suggests%20the%20racial%20biases%20present%20in%20the%20South%20Jersey/Philadelphia%20region%20during%20the%20migration%20era.%20The%20Lloyds%E2%80%99%20occupancy%20at%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20encompassed%20the%20period%20of%20the%20First%20World%20War.%20Frank%20Sr.%20served%20on%20the%20home%20front%20as%20a%20federal%20food%20administrator%20while%20son%20Frank%20Jr.%20deployed%20to%20France.%20While%20in%20command%20of%20an%20aerial%20testing%20camp%20near%20Paris,%20Lieutenant%20Lloyd%20suffered%20a%20fall%20that%20resulted%20in%20broken%20jaw%20and%20two%20days%20of%20unconsciousness.%20The%20Philadelphia%20Inquirer%E2%80%99s%20lists%20of%20soldiers%20killed%20and%20injured%20identified%20the%20younger%20Lloyd%20as%20%E2%80%9Cwounded%20severely.%E2%80%9D%20After%20their%20years%20on%20Cooper%20Street,%20the%20Lloyd%20family%20moved%20to%20Pennsauken.%20Frank%20Lloyd%20Sr.,%20appointed%20to%20the%20New%20Jersey%20Supreme%20Court%20in%201924,%20lived%20until%201951.%20An%20editorial%20in%20the%20Courier-Post%20eulogized%20him%20as%20%E2%80%9Ca%20citizen%20who%20never%20will%20be%20forgotten,%20one%20whose%20life%20and%20character%20have%20been%20and%20will%20continue%20to%20be%20an%20inspiration.%E2%80%9D%20Block-Busting%20on%20Cooper%20Street%20During%20the%201920s,%20construction%20of%20the%20Delaware%20River%20Bridge%20(the%20Benjamin%20Franklin%20Bridge)%20between%20Camden%20and%20Philadelphia%20propelled%20a%20spirit%20of%20boosterism%20with%20profound%20implications%20for%20Cooper%20Street.%20The%20location%20of%20the%20bridge,%20and%20the%20extension%20of%20Broadway%20to%20reach%20it,%20created%20a%20new%20focal%20point%20for%20business%20activity%20at%20Sixth%20and%20Cooper,%20adjacent%20to%20527%20Cooper%20Street.%20As%20real%20estate%20interests%20eyed%20the%20rest%20of%20Cooper%20Street%20as%20an%20opportunity%20to%20convert%20older%20homes%20into%20apartments%20and%20businesses,%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20became%20a%20base%20for%20their%20efforts%20to%20transform%20Cooper%20Street%20into%20a%20New%20York-style%20%E2%80%9CFifth%20Avenue.%E2%80%9D%20Several%20women%20emerged%20as%20real%20estate%20entrepreneurs%20during%20these%20years,%20among%20them%20a%20new%20owner%20of%20527%20Cooper%20Street,%20Julia%20M.%20Carey.%20By%20the%20time%20the%20bridge%20opened%20in%201926,%20the%20%E2%80%9CCarey%20Building%E2%80%9D%20at%20527%20Cooper%20offered%20office%20suites%20and%20apartments.%20Carey%20leased%20one%20of%20the%20offices%20to%20another%20real%20estate%20dealer,%20Emma%20M.%20Asay,%20whose%20gender-neutral%20advertising%20invited%20prospective%20buyers%20to%20contact%20%E2%80%9CE.M.%20Asay.%E2%80%9D%20The%20Courier-Post%20noted%20in%201926,%20%E2%80%9CMiss%20Carey%20and%20Miss%20E.M.%20Asay%20have%20found%20Cooper%20street%20an%20advantageous%20location,%20as%20both%20of%20these%20%E2%80%98lady%20real%20estators%E2%80%99%20have%20had%20two%20splendid%20selling%20seasons%20on%20Camden%E2%80%99s%20famous%20residential%20thoroughfare,%20now%20giving%20way%20to%20business.%E2%80%9D%20Carey%E2%80%99s%20work%20on%20the%20street%20included%20three%20strategically%20located%20renovations,%20one%20per%20block,%20to%20convert%20321,%20421,%20and%20521%20Cooper%20into%20offices%20or%20apartments.%20She%20often%20collaborated%20with%20contractor%20John%20C.%20Gibson,%20also%20based%20at%20527%20Cooper%20while%20he%20worked%20on%20conversions%20and%20new%20construction%20up%20and%20down%20the%20street.%20For%20the%20rest%20of%20the%20twentieth%20century%20and%20into%20the%20twenty-first%20century,%20527%20Cooper%20served%20a%20variety%20of%20business%20and%20professional%20uses,%20including%20offices%20for%20doctors,%20lawyers,%20real%20estate%20agents,%20and%20title%20companies.%20For%20three%20years%20in%20the%201950s,%20the%20building%20served%20as%20headquarters%20for%20the%20Camden%20County%20Republican%20Party.%20By%201980,%20when%20the%20Camden%20Division%20of%20Planning%20surveyed%20Cooper%20Street%E2%80%99s%20historic%20structures,%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20had%20lost%20some%20%E2%80%93%20but%20by%20no%20means%20all%20%E2%80%93%20of%20its%20architectural%20character.%20%E2%80%9CIn%20spite%20of%20alterations%20to%20the%20entrance%20way%20and%20the%20removal%20of%20the%20second-story%20oriel%20that%20once%20occupied%20the%20left%20bay,%E2%80%9D%20surveyor%20J.P.%20Graham%20wrote,%20%E2%80%9Cthis%20house%20still%20conveys%20much%20of%20the%20feeling%20of%20the%20Queen%20Anne%20style.%E2%80%9D%20In%202016,%20LEAP%20Academy%20University%20Charter%20School%20Inc.%20acquired%20527%20Cooper%20Street%20from%20Thomas%20DeMarco%20Holdings,%20LLC,%20of%20Cherry%20Hill,%20for%20$310,000." target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Hazlehurst &amp;amp; Huckel&lt;/a&gt;, a Philadelphia firm known for residential, church, and commercial architecture. The firm had recently completed another Queen Anne-style home at 323 Cooper Street, within view of the Anderson residence at Second and Cooper. One of the partners, Edward P. Hazlehurst, had worked with one of Philadelphia’s best-known architects, Frank Furness, before starting his own firm with Samuel Huckel Jr. in 1881. The stature of the partners had grown in 1887, when they won a competition to design the Manufacturer’s Club prominently located at Broad and Walnut Streets in Philadelphia; later, Huckel individually won the commission to remodel Grand Central Station in New York.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; In the 300 and 500 blocks of Cooper Street, the two Hazlehurst &amp;amp; Huckel houses stood distinctively among the earlier generation of red-brick row houses built in the 1850s. They celebrated individuality in their varieties of materials and departures from symmetry, and they punctured the typical flat façade of earlier row houses by featuring bay windows and dormers. The house at 527 Cooper Street earned a full-page photograph in &lt;a href="https://digital-libraries.artic.edu/digital/collection/mqc/id/7299/rec/5" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;&lt;em&gt;The Inland Architect and News Record&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/a&gt;, a monthly trade journal published in Chicago. (In 1894 the journal accorded the same treatment to the Henry Genet Taylor home at &lt;a href="https://digital-libraries.artic.edu/digital/collection/mqc/id/8152/rec/13" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;305 Cooper Street&lt;/a&gt;, designed by Wilson Eyre Jr.)&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; The Cox family lived at 527 Cooper Street until 1897, when they followed the trend of other Camden elites by moving to more pastoral suburbs (Moorestown). While on Cooper Street, their household included at least two domestic servants, at least one of them an Irish immigrant.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Prestige Rental&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; The Cox family sold 527 Cooper Street to a real estate firm, opening a period of more than two decades when the home was leased to a series of high-profile tenants. These included four division managers for the Pennsylvania Railroad’s Amboy Division (formerly the &lt;a href="https://www.delawareriverheritagetrail.org/Camden-and-Amboy-Railroad.html" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Camden and Amboy Railroad&lt;/a&gt;).&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; Among the most notable residents of 527 Cooper during these early years of the twentieth century, future New Jersey Supreme Court Justice &lt;a href="http://www.dvrbs.com/people/camdenpeople-judgefranktlloyd.htm" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Frank T. Lloyd Sr.&lt;/a&gt; lived at this address between 1908 and 1918. Lloyd had lived in Camden since 1875, when he arrived from Delaware to work as a compositor for the &lt;em&gt;West Jersey Press&lt;/em&gt; newspaper. He became a lawyer by studying with Philadelphia attorneys and maintained a Philadelphia law office. Elected to the New Jersey Assembly for the term 1896-97, Lloyd began a career of public service marked by combatting vice and upholding morality in his posts as legislator, Camden County Prosecutor, and Circuit Court Judge. In the Assembly, he wrote a new marriage law that ended Camden’s reputation as a place for quick get-away marriages by requiring a three-day wait after obtaining a marriage license. As a prosecutor, he took aim at illegal gambling, particularly at racetracks.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; The extended Lloyd family at 527 Cooper is glimpsed in the U.S. Census in 1910, during Frank Sr.’s service as Circuit Court Judge. Lloyd, then 50 years old, headed the family with his wife, Mary, age 43; Mary’s older sister Sophia Pelouze, 50 years old and single, identified herself to the Census-taker as a “companion.” The Lloyds, who had been married 23 years, had three children ranging in age from 10 to 22.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; The domestic workers in the Lloyd household added not only their labor but also ethnic and racial diversity, as in many other Cooper Street households. Katie Tellus, 31 years old, immigrated to the United States from &lt;a href="https://www.britannica.com/place/Bavaria" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Bavaria&lt;/a&gt; – a rarity among Cooper Street servants, who typically came from Ireland. A widow, she could not read or write. The Lloyds also employed James R. Taylor, a 35-year-old Black man described in the Census as a butler but listed in later city directories as a cook. Taylor, born in either Maryland or Virginia (sources vary), was among &lt;a href="https://www.census.gov/dataviz/visualizations/020/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;southern African Americans who migrated&lt;/a&gt; to Camden and other northern cities in search of opportunity and an escape from repression and violence. Taylor displayed his aspirations, and perhaps his dissatisfaction with housework, in a series of classified ads in 1912. In the Situations Wanted column of the Camden &lt;em&gt;Courier-Post&lt;/em&gt; he advertised, “Young colored boy from South wishes position of any kind” and “Southern colored boy wants position driving for doctor.” His self-description as a “young colored boy,” despite being a man in his 30s, suggests the racial biases present in the South Jersey/Philadelphia region during the migration era.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; The Lloyds’ occupancy at 527 Cooper Street encompassed the period of the First World War. Frank Sr. served on the home front as a federal food administrator while son Frank Jr. deployed to France. While in command of an aerial testing camp near Paris, Lieutenant Lloyd suffered a fall that resulted in broken jaw and two days of unconsciousness. The &lt;em&gt;Philadelphia Inquirer’s&lt;/em&gt; lists of soldiers killed and injured identified the younger Lloyd as “wounded severely.” After their years on Cooper Street, the Lloyd family moved to Pennsauken. Frank Lloyd Sr., appointed to the New Jersey Supreme Court in 1924, lived until 1951. An editorial in the &lt;em&gt;Courier-Post&lt;/em&gt; eulogized him as “a citizen who never will be forgotten, one whose life and character have been and will continue to be an inspiration.”&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;strong&gt;Block-Busting on Cooper Street&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; During the 1920s, construction of the Delaware River Bridge (the Benjamin Franklin Bridge) between Camden and Philadelphia propelled a spirit of boosterism with profound implications for Cooper Street. The location of the bridge, and the extension of Broadway to reach it, created a new focal point for business activity at Sixth and Cooper, adjacent to 527 Cooper Street. As real estate interests eyed the rest of Cooper Street as an opportunity to convert older homes into apartments and businesses, 527 Cooper Street became a base for their efforts to transform Cooper Street into a New York-style “Fifth Avenue.”&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; Several women emerged as real estate entrepreneurs during these years, among them a new owner of 527 Cooper Street, Julia M. Carey. By the time the bridge opened in 1926, the “Carey Building” at 527 Cooper offered office suites and apartments. Carey leased one of the offices to another real estate dealer, Emma M. Asay, whose gender-neutral advertising invited prospective buyers to contact “E.M. Asay.” The &lt;em&gt;Courier-Post&lt;/em&gt; noted in 1926, “Miss Carey and Miss E.M. Asay have found Cooper street an advantageous location, as both of these ‘lady real estators’ have had two splendid selling seasons on Camden’s famous residential thoroughfare, now giving way to business.” Carey’s woThe 1 Cooper into offices or apartments. She often collaborated with contractor John C. Gibson, also based at 527 Cooper while he worked on conversions and new construction up and down the street.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; For the rest of the twentieth century and into the twenty-first century, 527 Cooper served a variety of business and professional uses, including offices for doctors, lawyers, real estate agents, and title companies. For three years in the early 1950s, the building served as headquarters for the Camden County Republican Party. By 1980, when the Camden Division of Planning surveyed Cooper Street’s historic structures, 527 Cooper Street had lost some – but by no means all – of its architectural character. “In spite of alterations to the entrance way and the removal of the second-story oriel that once occupied the left bay,” surveyor J.P. Graham wrote, “this house still conveys much of the feeling of the Queen Anne style.”&lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt; In 2016, LEAP Academy University Charter School Inc. acquired 527 Cooper Street from Thomas DeMarco Holdings, LLC, of Cherry Hill, for $310,000. &lt;strong&gt;Although a contributing structure of the Cooper Street Historic District, t&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;strong&gt;he house was demolished in 2024.&lt;/strong&gt;</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="61">
          <name>Associated Individuals</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="685">
              <text>All known residents and businesses are listed in the Cooper Street database. &lt;a href="https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/15gz3_mGk3FcNl0TPaOZAq6B1CHvOpqRcY7a99xkp_l4/edit?usp=sharing" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"&gt;Click here&lt;/a&gt; and scroll to 527.</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="67">
          <name>Associated architects/builders</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="686">
              <text>Edward P. Hazlehurst&#13;
Samuel Huckel Jr.</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="62">
          <name>Sources</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="687">
              <text>&lt;p&gt;Camden and Philadelphia newspapers (Newspapers.com)&lt;br /&gt; Camden City Directories (Camden County Historical Society, Ancestry.com)&lt;br /&gt; Camden County Property Records&lt;br /&gt; Cooper Street Historic District, National Register Nomination, U.S. Department of Interior.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;em&gt;Inland Architect and News Record&lt;/em&gt;, Ryerson and Burnham Libraries, the Art Institute of Chicago&lt;br /&gt;&lt;em&gt;Manuals of the Legislature of New Jersey&lt;/em&gt;, 1896-97&lt;br /&gt; Philadelphia Architects and Buildings Project, Athenaeum of Philadelphia&lt;br /&gt; Structures Survey, 527 Cooper Street, New Jersey Office of Cultural and Environmental Services&lt;br /&gt; U.S. and New Jersey Censuses (Ancestry.com)&lt;/p&gt;</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="60">
          <name>Research by</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="688">
              <text>Charlene Mires, Lucy Davis, and Nick Prehn. Thanks to Benjamin Saracco for assistance locating Manuals for the Legislature of New Jersey.</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
        <element elementId="63">
          <name>Posted by</name>
          <description/>
          <elementTextContainer>
            <elementText elementTextId="689">
              <text>Charlene Mires&#13;
Please communicate corrections to cmires@camden.rutgers.edu&#13;
</text>
            </elementText>
          </elementTextContainer>
        </element>
      </elementContainer>
    </itemType>
    <elementSetContainer>
      <elementSet elementSetId="1">
        <name>Dublin Core</name>
        <description>The Dublin Core metadata element set is common to all Omeka records, including items, files, and collections. For more information see, http://dublincore.org/documents/dces/.</description>
        <elementContainer>
          <element elementId="50">
            <name>Title</name>
            <description>A name given to the resource</description>
            <elementTextContainer>
              <elementText elementTextId="678">
                <text>527 Cooper Street</text>
              </elementText>
            </elementTextContainer>
          </element>
          <element elementId="41">
            <name>Description</name>
            <description>An account of the resource</description>
            <elementTextContainer>
              <elementText elementTextId="679">
                <text>Contributing structure, Cooper Street Historic District.</text>
              </elementText>
            </elementTextContainer>
          </element>
        </elementContainer>
      </elementSet>
    </elementSetContainer>
    <tagContainer>
      <tag tagId="48">
        <name>1890s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="49">
        <name>1900s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="74">
        <name>1910s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="91">
        <name>1920s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="92">
        <name>1930s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="93">
        <name>1940s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="94">
        <name>1950s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="95">
        <name>1960s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="96">
        <name>1970s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="97">
        <name>1980s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="98">
        <name>1990s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="123">
        <name>2000s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="124">
        <name>2010s</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="227">
        <name>500 Block</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="228">
        <name>527 Cooper Street</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="235">
        <name>Bavaria</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="231">
        <name>Black Migration</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="105">
        <name>Bridge Impact</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="194">
        <name>Delaware</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="4">
        <name>Domestic Life</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="84">
        <name>Extended Family</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="229">
        <name>Food Industry</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="232">
        <name>Hazlehurst &amp; Huckel</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="230">
        <name>Immigration</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="114">
        <name>Ireland</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="233">
        <name>Maryland</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="126">
        <name>Moorestown</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="108">
        <name>Pennsauken</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="11">
        <name>Philadelphia</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="187">
        <name>Public Officials</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="15">
        <name>Queen Anne</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="236">
        <name>Railroad Executives</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="25">
        <name>Real Estate</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="81">
        <name>Renovations</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="115">
        <name>Servants</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="234">
        <name>Virginia</name>
      </tag>
      <tag tagId="122">
        <name>World War I</name>
      </tag>
    </tagContainer>
  </item>
</itemContainer>
